PTI’s Anwar-ul-Haq becomes AJK Legislative Assembly Speaker

by Tauqeer Abbas

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) nominee Anwar-ul-Haq on Tuesday has become speaker of Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK) Legislative Assembly.

During the session, Anwar-ul-Haq grabbed 32 votes and defeated opposition parties’ Faisal Rathore.

However, voting to finalize deputy speaker is underway. PTI has fielded Riaz Gujjar whereas opposition has provided the name of Nisara Abbasi for deputy speaker position.

Earlier in the day, outgoing speaker Shah Ghulam Qadir administered the oath to the newly-elected members of AJK Legislative Assembly.

It is to be mentioned here that PTI emerged as the largest political party in Azad Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Assembly in the recently-held elections on July 25. The party will form a government in the region as it has managed to secure a total number of 32 seats (including reserved seats).

Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) won 12 seats while Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) grabbed seven seats in the AJKLA.

Dunya News

You may also like